## President Truman with Hoover Commission members



Accession Number 58-337

8x10 inches (21x26 cm) Black & White

## Description

First meeting of the Commission on the Reorganization of the Executive Branch of Government, popularly known as the Hoover Commission. Front Row, left to right: George H. Mead, former President Herbert Hoover, President Harry S. Truman, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Senator John L. McClellan. Back Row, left to right: Clarence Brown, James V. Forrestal, Arthur Flemming, Dean Acheson, James Rowe, and Representative Carter Manasco. Same as 59-1365-1.

## Date(s)

September 29, 1947

Keywords Ex-presidents Executive advisory bodies Presidential advisors Presidents

HST Keywords Truman - Dignitaries - Hoover, Herbert; Truman - Commissions - Hoover Commission

People PicturedAcheson, Dean, 1893-1971Brown, Clarence James, 1895-1965Flemming, Arthur S. (ArthurSherwood), 1905-1996Forrestal, James, 1892-1949Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964Kennedy, Joseph P.(Joseph Patrick), 1888-1969Mead, George Houk, 1877-1963Rowe, James H. (James Henry), 1909-1984Truman, Harry S., 1884-1972

**Rights** Copyrighted - This item is copyrighted and cannot be published, reproduced, or otherwise used without the explicit permission of the copyright holder.

## Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.

Credit: International News Photos Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.