International News Photo

First Meeting of the Hoover Commission

This is the first meeting of the Commission on the Organization of the Executive Branch of Government, also known as the Hoover Commission. Standing, left to right: Representative Clarence J. Brown, James V. Forrestal, Arthur S. Flemming, James K. Pollock, Dean G. Acheson, James H. Rowe, and Representative Carter Manasco. Seated, from left to right: George Mead, former President Herbert Hoover, President Harry S. Truman, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Senator John F. McClellan. Same as 58-337 but less cropped.