1. Home
  2. Acheson, Dean, 1893-1971

Acheson, Dean, 1893-1971

President Truman Speaks at the North Atlantic Treaty Organization Signing Ceremony

President Harry S. Truman speaks at the North Atlantic Treaty Organization signing ceremony in the State Department Auditorium in Washington, D.C. Seated in a semi-circle behind him are the foreign ministers all the NATO signatory nations, front row, left to right: Ernest Bevin, United Kingdom; Halvard M. Lange, Norway; Joseph Bech, Luxembourg; Bjarni Benediktsson, Iceland; Gustav Rasmussen, Denmark; Paul-Henri Spaak, Belgium; Dean Acheson, United States; Lester Pearson, Canada; Robert Schuman, France; Count Carlo Sforza, Italy; Dirk U.

President Truman and Prime Minister Churchill at Anglo-American Meeting

Meeting between American and British government officials in Washington, D.C. Seated (L to R): Sir Anthony Eden, British Foreign Minister; Sir Winston Churchill, British Prime Minister; President Harry S. Truman; Dean Acheson, U.S. Secretary of State; John W. Snyder, U.S. Secretary of Treasury; Robert A. Lovett, U.S. Secretary of Defense. Standing (L to R): Walter S. Gifford, U.S. Ambassador to Great Britain; General Omar N. Bradley; Sir Oliver Franks, British Ambassador to the U.S.; Lord Frederick Cherwell; Lord Hastings L. Ismay; W. Averell Harriman.