First Meeting of the Hoover Commission

59-1365-1 (untitled)
Accession Number
6.5x8.5 inches
Black & White
HST Keywords
Hoover Commission; Acheson, Dean - Truman Presidency; Truman - Dignitaries - Hoover, Herbert; Truman - Commissions - Hoover Commission

Copyrighted - This item is copyrighted and cannot be published, reproduced, or otherwise used without the explicit permission of the copyright holder.

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.


Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accesion number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.

This is the first meeting of the Commission on the Organization of the Executive Branch of Government, also known as the Hoover Commission. Standing, left to right: Representative Clarence J. Brown, James V. Forrestal, Arthur S. Flemming, James K. Pollock, Dean G. Acheson, James H. Rowe, and Representative Carter Manasco. Seated, from left to right: George Mead, former President Herbert Hoover, President Harry S. Truman, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Senator John F. McClellan. Same as 58-337 but less cropped.
September 29, 1947