1. Home
  2. Young, John Russell, 1882-1967

Young, John Russell, 1882-1967

National Capital Sesquicentennial Postage Stamp Ceremonies

Members and representatives of the National Capital Sesquicentennial Commission are shown the commemorative postage stamps for the event. From left to right: Joseph C. McGarraghy, Chairman of the Executive Committee; Assistant to the President John R. Steelman; Postmaster General Jesse Donaldson; Carter Barron, Executive Vice-Chairman; and John Russell Young, President of the Board of Commissioners of the District of Columbia.

Welcoming Ceremony for President Auriol

President Truman, Cabinet members, and others on the reviewing stand for the welcoming of the President of France. Front row, left to right: Secretary of Agriculture Charles F. Brannan; Secretary of the Interior Oscar Chapman; Attorney General J. Howard McGrath; Secretary of Defense George C. Marshall; French Ambassador Henri Bonnet; Vice President Alben Barkley; President Harry S. Truman; Secretary of State Dean Acheson; President of France Vincent Auriol; Foreign Minister Robert Schuman; and District Commissioner John R. Young. All others unidentified. From: Oscar Chapman Scrapbook