1. Home
  2. Library Collections
  3. Photographs
  4. Battery D Dinner celebrating the election of President Roosevelt and Vice President-elect Truman

Battery D Dinner celebrating the election of President Roosevelt and Vice President-elect Truman

Accession Number
8x10 inches (21x26 cm)
Black & White

Note: If you use this image, rights assessment and attribution are your responsibility.


Harry S. Truman Library & Museum.

Attention media: Please make note of this item's accession number. Print out this page and retain it for your permissions records before downloading this image file for possible publication. Library staff cannot sign permissions forms or provide additional paperwork. The Library charges no usage fees for downloaded images.

Battery D Dinner celebrating the election of President Franklin D. Roosevelt and Vice President-elect Harry S. Truman. At table, left to right: James B. Conway, Newell T. Paterson, Morris Glen Riley, Frank Stanley, Edward D. McKim, Harry S. Truman, Eugene P. Donnelly, John H. Thacher, Col. Harry Vaughan, Godfrey C. Downey, Verne F. Chaney, Fred E. Junion, John M. Carnie. First row standing: Frank Sargart, Ralph W. Taylor, Harry E. Whitney, Carl Pat Reilly, Fred Weiderman, Samuel Dantzig, Francis G. McGowan, Ed Gerye, Charles L. Fredericks, Frank E. Spina, Lawrence F. Becker, Leo J. Gant, Ralph J. Parkins, William H. Breen, James Doherty, Byron E. Thornhill, Ernest L. Schmidt, Mark Connelly, Milton R. Evans, Joseph L. Lavery, Jack O'Sullivan, Earl Van Buskirk, Vere C. Leigh, Clifton J. Sampson, William Meredith, Charles B. Maret, Fred C. Cunningham, Joseph F. Coyle, Chester V. Gibbs, John J. Higinbotham, Thomas F. O'Hare. Last row standing: Edward Jacobson, Herman Rosenberg, Robert E. Joyce, James F. Casey, John Bullard, Frank J. Kunz, Glenn B. Woods, Edward V. Stuart, Albert A. Ridge, Paul W. Liebnitz, Paul R. Sieben, Harry M. Kelley, Daniel R. Thacker, William F. Tierney, John H. Riley, Cleary M. Detling, Harry Groff, James W. Gadwood, John T. Naulty, Robert R. Stewart, Francis Yeager, Edward H. Schmitt, Thomas E. Murphy, Walter B. Menefee, John L. Gordon, George A. Hardy, Edward P. Meisburger, Fred J. Schmidt, Joseph A. Wimmers, Orrie B. Goose. Original is oversized. Autographed in corner by Harry S. Truman "My very best to Bty D, Captain Harry, Harry S. Truman, Nov. 11, 1911, U. S. S. not VP Elect." It was taken at the Hotel President in Kansas City, Missouri.
November 11, 1944